Starboy Review (AKA An Article Where I Gush a Lot About Abel Tesfaye)

I got asked to do a review of The Weeknd’s newest album Starboy, which got ran over at Headstuff, as you can read here:

http://www.headstuff.org/2016/12/review-the-weeknd-goes-interstellar-on-starboy/

Forgot to put this here a week or so ago. I can’t stop listening to the album. I had to give it a score and I hate giving things scores. In general I dislike the idea of things being critiqued in numerical values. Judging art with math is just silly to me. But I totally get it. I hate things like Rotten Tomatoes scores and yet I look at them just as much as anybody else even when I know how full of shit they can often be. Regardless, Starboy is an amazing album and the best thing The Weeknd has done so far. I’ve seen a lot of people that are a lot less enthused about it and it’s disappointing to hear; I think it’s the ultimate blend of his darker trappings and his commercial aspirations, and it manages to splash blood across the poppy canvas he’s painted his own image on. It’s a total fucking blast and needs to get played really, really loudly.

Been extremely busy with working on rewrites of a number of short stories and drafts for novels so I’m using articles and reviews as ways of taking breaks from that side of my head while still exercising my writing muscles. Getting into painting again. Bitching about movies. Kicking general ass.

Leave a Reply

